POP lo!

I ended BMT with a smile on my face.

Can you find me?
Can you find me?

I can’t say I found BMT meaningful. Memorable maybe, and even then, not that many good memories. And although I don’t think there were a lot of bad memories, somehow I find the negative easier to remember.

But BMT started to get better near the end. For most people, it would be like that, since the worst is over and there is more free time for fun and goofing off. But for me, it got better in more ways than one.

From 0 to 3 to 6 pull-ups within 2 weeks, an improvement that for me used to take roughly 4 months, I’m glad and grateful that God has allowed me to pass out from BMT without feeling like a failure.

Outside of BMT, God has also blessed me tremendously. Receiving the NUS Faculty Award despite being ill-prepared and stuttering through the interview, and an upcoming interview for USP. My undergraduate experience is already looking exciting, despite being 2 years away.

Block Leave has also been fun, meeting up with friends, eating good food, playing lots of LAN, watching a movie, and reading books like Outliers and A Walk To Remember. And I’ve also learnt how to use my washing machine! (haha.)

But I realised recently that with the amount of fun I’ve been having, I’ve forgotten my regular times with God. It brought back to mind the verse:

“Don’t let the excitement of youth cause you to forget your Creator. Honour him in your youth before you grow old and say, “Life is not pleasant anymore.” – Ecclesiastes 12:1

So, back to reading the Word. Otherwise stagnation will become degeneration.

2 thoughts on “POP lo!

Leave a Reply

