Curiously Strong Mints

I recently bought this eye-catching box of mints from a Marks & Spencer’s food section after making my regular purchase of M & S’s really delightful dark chocolate digestive biscuits:

The quaintly designed metal tin box the mints come in.

Other than the fact that they really are curiously strong, what I really like about these mints is that their list of ingredients worry me much less than other mints that I used to buy, like Fisherman’s Friend or Clorets.

Sorry for the blurred shot, I tried to keep as steady a hand as possible.

As you can see, the ingredients are: Sugar, Dextrose, Glucose, Peppermint Oil, Beef Gelatine, and Menthol. And no artificial colours or flavourings. A refreshingly short list with more understandable names. Also, it uses good ol’ sugars instead of artificial sweeteners with dubious reputations such as aspartame and acesulfame-K. I noticed the former used in Clorets and the latter in Fisherman’s Friend. I never did much research into it, but personally I am aware that some of these artificial sweeteners affect our body, and am much more comfortable with sugar. I mean, why avoid sugar unless you are diabetic?

So if you have enough of artificially sweetened mints, I recommend buying this. You can find it at any Marks & Spencer’s shops in Singapore.

Leave a Reply

