Wishin’ for a Real Friendship or Two

I walk up alone to the church on the hill
To go for the Sunday Service at 9 ‘o’ clock
As I walk in, the usher says, “Welcome,”
But that is not the feeling I got

Deciding to sit along the aisle
I found myself a seat at the edge of the pew
The Sunday faithful sit together
The stranger beside me I hardly knew

I’m wishin’ for a real friendship or two
Help me be grateful that I have you
Cause friends you can trust are hard to find
I wish that you could be forever mine

I pray to God
“I wish not for silver or gold,
But one thing I wish for, is a friend,
Please grant me this wish, I beg you so.”

I’m wishin’ for a real friendship or two
Help me be grateful that I have you
Cause friends you can trust are hard to find
I wish that you could be forever mine

I hear a quiet voice in my heart,
“Friends are something that everyone has,
It’s up to you to make it work
I’ve given you the same chance as the rest.”

“But Lord,” I cry,
“Why is it so difficult?
The popular guys get all the attention
I just don’t see where I’m at fault.”

I’m wishin’ for a real friendship or two
Help me be grateful that I have you
Cause friends you can trust are hard to find
I wish that you could be forever mine

“You may not feel noticed,” said the Lord,
“But the ones that do, they love you,
And as you get to know them better,
You will become a better friend too.”

“I know how hard it is for you,
“And friends to you will come few,
But the ones that do will fully appreciate
That they have a good friend such as you.”

I’m wishin’ for a real friendship or two,
Help me be grateful that I have you,
Cause friends you can trust are hard to find;
I wish that you could be forever mine.

fin.

I’m imagining this as a song, but I don’t know what the tune is supposed to be like.

2 thoughts on “Wishin’ for a Real Friendship or Two

Leave a Reply

