Care About The Things That Matter

Care about the things that matter, don’t care about the things that don’t.

There are some things not worth caring about at all, and some things that you should care about with all your being.

I stumbled upon this blog post titled: The Complete Guide to not Giving A F***. I don’t agree with every single thing he says, but from a secular perspective, much of what he says make sense, and some of his advice is worth heeding. I find it interesting that some of his ideas mirror my own thoughts about life and how to live it. For example, about people judging how you look and what you do:

But as I walked by people in my techno-clown outfit, not a single person looked at me. Nobody cared, and it slowly dawned on me that even if people did look at me weird, they just walked by. Later, they would forget about me entirely.

I still remember the day I travelled home by public transport in my Vibram Fivefingers. People stared at my feet and whispered to each other, but I knew these people were just mere passers-by in my life; their judgement wouldn’t affect me in any way. Even if I did encounter them again, they wouldn’t remember me as that weird boy who walked home in weird shoes. And I wouldn’t remember them either. We would be strangers to each other.

What he says about relationships:

Relationships are weird. Once we’re in one (with family, a spouse, whatever), we promptly begin to take the other person for granted and move on to impressing strangers instead – say, our boss. Then, once we’ve impressed our boss, we start taking him for granted too, and so on, in an endless cycle of apathy. It’s like we always prefer to impress and charm the new than to work on what we already have.

But these people – your champions – they understand your quest or your cause. They make you feel good when you’re around them, make you laugh or make you feel like you can just be yourself. They make you feel relaxed or at ease. You’ve shared things with them. They’re important. Focus on them instead.

It’s very true. All of us – including myself – tend to take for granted the people whom we can depend on the most. A good example would be our parents – so many young people often forget how much they have provided for them, often complaining about their parents’ control over their lives. I’m slowly working on appreciating the people who have done the most for me, and giving more of myself to these people.

Have you been true to who you are?

Leave a Reply

