The Sacrifices of Scholarly Pursuits

“There is a calmness to a life lived in gratitude, a quiet joy. ” – Ralph H. Blum

So I’m finally back in school. Hooray.

Not sure if I meant that to be sarcastic or not. While I’m glad to finally be studying again, it seems like life has become all about school, school, school. Any personal side projects, such as writing, or this blog, has been put on hold. Even my recreational reading has stopped in favour of my school texts by Greek philosophers and rhetoricians. There are moments when I wonder if university is my gateway to my dreams, or robbing me from them. At this stage I really am trusting God that I didn’t make a mistake when I made this decision with Him two years ago. I hope I don’t look back four years later and see it as a waste of time.

I make it sound like uni.’s really terrible. It isn’t, it’s just been extremely stressful. But I’ve met a lot of cool people, and my left brain is slowly warming up again to the maths and the sciences.

Encountered this excerpt from the Deathly Hallows. I remembered reading it. It’s so sad and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

