Wake up, it isn’t over.

“I lie down and sleep;
I wake again, because the LORD sustains me.”
– Psalms 3:5

At some point in life, most will undergo a period of terrible hardship. Everything will seem hopeless, you wonder how you got into this mess. There seems to be no way out. Reality is just too difficult; you want to find an escape. The only solace you find is in sleep. Some depressives never want to wake up; they jump off buildings, cut themselves, overdose on sleeping pills, so they never need to.

In depression, you can’t think of any good reason to stir from your bed.

Yet one thing, if even barely, keeps me waking up, every single day. It might not be getting better, but it’s not over, yet. And it’ll be over, one day. God promised me it wouldn’t be like this forever.

I wake again, because the LORD sustains me.

Leave a Reply

