Silver Linings Playbook

On the flight back from Beijing after a conference, I had a good rest after an exhausting rush to the airport. I woke up at about 5am by the sound of my neighbour asking for a drink from the flight attendant. Rested enough, I decided to watch a movie. The catalogue had too many choices, and I only had time for one. Zero Dark Thirty, Ah Boys To Men, Rust and Bone…I settled on Silver Linings Playbook, thinking maybe I can have a good laugh at what I think is a romantic comedy about two people diagnosed with mental illness who fall in love. Besides, Jennifer Lawrence is cute.

About two hours later, I have been bawling my eyes out about every other scene in the Silver Linings Playbook. An announcement comes on that they will be collecting the headphones since we are about to land. When the stewardess came by, I asked if I could finish the movie. I’m not sure if it was normal protocol, or whether she noticed by red eyes and tear-stained cheeks, but she said she’ll come back later and let me watch the last ten minutes.

Silver Linings Playbook is a sort-of drama. It’s definitely not a spectacular action movie, but it isn’t also a small-scale art movie, or very romantic or comedic. It wasn’t simply trying to relate to us the difficulties of living with a mental condition, or living with a person who has one; it was trying to tell us that there’s a little bit of crazy in all of us. Some of us just have the bad luck of their crazy being less accepted than others. And if we understand that, perhaps that is the first step to understanding and loving each other.

The credits rolled, the plane touched down, and well, I had a nice long nap. I’m glad to be back. GXT was really fun but also packed. I’m glad to have a breather.

Leave a Reply

